Explode The Code® has helped millions of students build the essential literacy skills needed for reading success: phonological awareness, decoding, vocabulary, comprehension, fluency, and spelling. Explode The Code® is a research-based, multisensory program geared to improving literacy with direct, systematic, phonics instruction. Explode The Code's classic print program includes a sequence of skills-based student books with coordinating placement tests and instructional support..

What is Explode The Code method?

Explode The Code® is a proven Orton-Gillingham based program helping beginning readers gain early literacy skills. Explode The Code® supports multisensory, structured, sequential, cumulative, and flexible instruction. Explode The Code offers a complete systematic phonics program for the elementary grades.

What grade level is Explode The Code?

Explode the Code is designed to provide phonics instruction for students in pre-K to about grade 4.

The Series consists of Get Ready, Get Set and Go for the Code (A Primer for the Explode the Code Series), Explode the Code Books 1 through 8 (Essential Lessons for Phonics Mastery), Explode the Code 1 1/2 through 6 1/2 (Phonics Review & Reinforcement) and Beyond the Code (Develop Comprehension and Reasoning Skills). Workbooks and Teacher Guides are available.

The Explode The Code Difference

  • Research-based, multisensory instruction
  • Abundant practice and reinforcement opportunities for greater retention
  • Development of comprehension skills through reading in context
  • Accommodations for English Language Learners and struggling readers

 Wondering what is covered in each of the Explode the Code Workbooks? Check these out:

Explode The Code® Scope & Sequence

Explode The Code® Lesson Sampler

Get Set for The Code B: Sample Lesson

Explode The Code 1: Table of Contents